Designer Wallpaper Brands Compared: What Each One Is Like to Buy, Hang and Live With
Written by the Abington Decorating Supplies team — decorators' merchants in Northampton, selling Galerie, Sanderson, Morris & Co., Farrow & Ball, Little Greene and Paint Library wallpaper to trade and retail customers across Northamptonshire. Last updated: 7 October 2026
TL;DR: We list around 2,100 wallpapers online. Galerie is the value end — 662 designs from £25.56 a roll, most paste-the-wall. Sanderson (493 designs, £47.20–£269.25) is the broad middle, Morris & Co. (394, £63.75–£128.00) the Arts & Crafts classic. Farrow & Ball (265, £76.80–£151.20, most at £120) is real paint on paper and behaves like it. Little Greene runs £69.60–£224.00, Paint Library £102.40–£284.00. For a 12m-perimeter room allow six rolls, eight on a large repeat.
Contents
- Which designer wallpaper brands do we stock?
- How much does designer wallpaper cost per roll?
- What is Galerie wallpaper like?
- Sanderson or Morris & Co. — what is the difference?
- Is Farrow & Ball wallpaper worth the money?
- Where do Little Greene and Paint Library fit?
- Paste-the-wall or paste-the-paper?
- How many rolls do I need?
- Where can I see these wallpapers in Northampton?
- FAQs
Which designer wallpaper brands do we stock?
Everything below was counted and priced from our live wallpaper collection on 7 October 2026, excluding adhesives and samples. Prices are per roll unless the design is a panel set.
| Brand | Designs listed today | Price per roll | Most common price | Roll size stated on our product pages | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galerie | 662 | £25.56–£75.95 | £67.95 / £30.35 | 53cm × 10.05m where stated | Rentals, kids' rooms, whole-house budgets |
| Sanderson | 493 | £47.20–£269.25 | £62.40 / £97.60 | 52cm × 10.05m | Classic English pattern with a modern palette |
| Morris & Co. | 394 | £63.75–£128.00 | £94.40 / £105.60 | 52cm × 10.05m | Arts & Crafts, period houses, hallways |
| Farrow & Ball | 265 | £76.80–£151.20 | £120.00 | 53cm × 10m | Matching paper exactly to F&B paint |
| Little Greene | 502 | £69.60–£224.00 | £94.40 | 52cm × 10.05m | Documentary pattern, paint-matched colour |
| Paint Library | 73 | £102.40–£284.00 | £108.00 | Not stated online — ask us | Quiet, drawn, gallery-ish designs |
| Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen "Off the Wall" | 65 | £38.40–£48.00 | £38.40 | 53cm × 10m–10.05m | Bold pattern on a Galerie budget |
Prices correct as of 7 October 2026, pulled live from our own product pages. Wallpaper pricing moves, so check the collection page before ordering.
From behind the counter: the question we get most is not "which is nicest?" but "why is that one £30 and that one £130?" The answer is printing method and licence. Galerie's ranges are machine-printed non-wovens made in volume; Farrow & Ball's are surface-printed with the same paint they sell in tins; Sanderson and Morris & Co. sit in between, with an archive behind them.
How much does designer wallpaper cost per roll?
Ignore the headline "from" prices — the median tells you what you will actually pay.
| Brand | Cheapest | 25th percentile | Median | 75th percentile | Dearest single line |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galerie | £25.56 | £34.36 | £40.76 | £58.35 | £75.95 |
| Sanderson | £47.20 | £62.40 | £78.40 | £97.60 | £269.25 (mural) |
| Morris & Co. | £63.75 | £94.40 | £102.40 | £112.00 | £316.80 (Melsetter 3m stocked panel) |
| Farrow & Ball | £76.80 | £120.00 | £128.00 | £136.00 | £151.20 |
| Little Greene | £69.60 | £94.40 | £94.40 | £108.80 | £224.00 (Asterid) |
| Paint Library | £102.40 | £102.40 | £108.00 | £174.40 | £284.00 |
Prices correct as of 7 October 2026, calculated from every wallpaper line in each brand's collection that day.
A three-roll feature wall in Galerie is £120–£170 of paper; in Farrow & Ball £360–£455; in Paint Library's Aloe Walk (£284) over £850.
What is Galerie wallpaper like?
Galerie is our biggest range and the one we send DIY customers to: Scandi florals, brick and concrete effects, kitchen prints, damasks, kids' designs — 662 lines, 549 of them under £60.
The practical point is hanging. Of the 662 Galerie pages on our site, 426 state paste-the-wall — a typical technical block reads "Application Method: Paste the wall Washability: Extra washable Match Type: Offset match Pattern Repeat: 64 cm". Paste-the-wall paper needs no soaking, does not expand on the table and strips off dry years later. If you have never hung paper, start here.
The Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen "Off the Wall" collection is made by Galerie and behaves the same way: 65 designs, all 53cm wide, all paste-the-wall on their spec, priced £38.40 to £48.00. Sunnyside Up (£38.40) blows sunflowers up to wall scale — the best-value statement wall we sell.
Sanderson or Morris & Co. — what is the difference?
Both belong to Sanderson Design Group, but they are not interchangeable.
Sanderson has the most breadth: 493 designs from £47.20 to £269.25 — Arboretum's watercolour birds, coastal collections like Embleton Bay and Port Isaac, and licensed ranges (Disney, Alice in Wonderland, 101 Dalmatians) that sell steadily for nurseries. Specs are detailed: product code, width 52cm, length 10.05 metres, repeat and pattern match. Watch that match — half-drop designs like Woodland Chorus (68.6cm repeat) eat more paper than the roll length suggests.
Morris & Co. is narrower and dearer because it is a single design language — Willow Bough, Pimpernel, Strawberry Thief, Melsetter — mostly straight-match, £63.75 to £128.00, with stocked Melsetter mural panels at £316.80. It is forgiving to hang because the pattern is dense: small errors disappear into the foliage. Nothing else we stock suits a dark Victorian hallway as well.
From behind the counter: the mistake we see most with Morris is buying it for a small modern box room and finding it overwhelming. Under about 3m × 3m, go for Simply Morris or Pure Morris — same drawing, quieter colour.
Is Farrow & Ball wallpaper worth the money?
It depends on whether you want the paint match. Farrow & Ball papers are surface-printed with the company's own paint on a paper ground, which is why the colours sit beside their tins perfectly and why the surface has a chalky depth you can see across a room.
Two details off the product pages matter. First, dimensions: "Full roll width is 53cm/21", roll length is 10m" — shorter than the 10.05m standard, with repeats up to 67.5cm on some designs. And F&B's own note: "We recommend ordering all the rolls you need in one go because using traditional techniques and real paint, like we do, means pattern and colour can vary very slightly between batches." Take that seriously — we cannot promise the same batch on a top-up three weeks later.
Prices cluster: 86 of the 265 F&B papers we list are £120.00, with Closet Stripe the cheapest at £76.80 and metallics to £151.20. Buy it if you are already using F&B paint; if not, Sanderson gives more design for the money.
Where do Little Greene and Paint Library fit?
Little Greene is the documentary end: nearly every design is redrawn from a real paper in a real building, and every colourway comes out of the Little Greene paint palette. Our 502 listings run £69.60 to £224.00, median £94.40, with Asterid at the top. We have reviewed the current collections design by design in our Little Greene wallpaper review.
Paint Library is the one most people have not heard of and the one designers ask for by name. 73 designs, £102.40 to £284.00, drawn and restrained — Aeonium, Hardy Palm, Lighthouse, Tropicane. Every Paint Library page on our site lists it as paste-the-wall, so it hangs more easily than its price suggests. Best where you want pattern to read as texture.
Graham & Brown we list only in small numbers online; for a specific G&B line, ring us on 01604 232141 and we will price it from the books.
Paste-the-wall or paste-the-paper?
This decides whether a DIY job goes well. Where our pages state the method:
| Brand | What our product pages state | Practical read |
|---|---|---|
| Galerie | Paste-the-wall stated on 426 of 662 listings | Non-woven; easiest to hang and to strip |
| Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen (Galerie) | Paste-the-wall on all 65 | Same as Galerie |
| Little Greene | Paste-the-wall stated on 489 listings, paste-the-paper on 12 | Mostly paste-the-wall — check the individual paper |
| Morris & Co. | Method not stated on the listing | Check the roll label or ask us |
| Sanderson | Method not stated on the listing | Check the roll label or ask us |
| Farrow & Ball | Paste-the-paper on 263 of 265 listings | Traditional paper; paste the paper |
| Paint Library | Paste-the-wall on all 73 | Non-woven; easy to hang |
Every roll carries standardised symbols for application, washability, strippability and light fastness, defined in BS EN 235:2020, Wallcoverings — Vocabulary and symbols, published by BSI. For a bathroom, that symbol block is the bit to read, not the marketing copy.
From behind the counter: buy the right adhesive rather than a general one. We keep ready-mixed and flake pastes and lining papers in wallpaper tools, lining papers and adhesives, and sealers in wallpaper primers and sealers. Fresh plaster needs sizing; a wall in vinyl silk needs abrading first, or the paper takes the paint off with it.
How many rolls do I need?
Measure the room perimeter, counting doors and windows in — that is your safety margin. At a 2.4m ceiling you get four drops from a 10.05m roll on a small-repeat paper, but three once the repeat is over about 50cm.
| Room perimeter | Drops needed (52–53cm wide) | Rolls: plain or small repeat | Rolls: large repeat (50cm+) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10m (e.g. 3m × 2m) | 20 | 5 | 7 |
| 12m (3.5m × 2.5m) | 24 | 6 | 8 |
| 14m (4m × 3m) | 27 | 7 | 9 |
| 16m (4.5m × 3.5m) | 31 | 8 | 11 |
| 18m (5m × 4m) | 35 | 9 | 12 |
Figures assume a 2.4m ceiling and no deduction for doors or windows. Above about 2.6m you get three drops per roll, so add roughly 25%.
From behind the counter: buy one roll more than the table says, and buy it at the same time. Batch numbers matter on every brand here and most of all on Farrow & Ball and Little Greene. A spare roll is cheap insurance; a wall that no longer matches is not.
Where can I see these wallpapers in Northampton?
We keep the pattern books for all of these brands at Unit 1, 94a Wycliffe Road, Northampton NN1 5JF, plus a small in-store wallpaper stock for same-day jobs. Bring your measurements and the paint colour you are working around. We also stock the paints to go with them, including Irish-made Fleetwood — see our guide to Fleetwood Paints in Northamptonshire. Call 01604 232141 or contact us.
FAQs
Which designer wallpaper brands do you stock?
Galerie, Sanderson, Morris & Co., Farrow & Ball, Little Greene, Paint Library, the Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen Off the Wall collection made by Galerie, and Graham & Brown to order — around 2,100 wallpaper lines online on 7 October 2026, plus the pattern books in store in Northampton.
What is the cheapest designer wallpaper you sell?
Galerie, starting at £25.56 a roll, median £40.76, top price £75.95. The Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen Off the Wall collection, also made by Galerie, runs £38.40 to £48.00, with most designs at £38.40.
How much is Farrow & Ball wallpaper per roll?
From £76.80 to £151.20 a roll at our prices as of 7 October 2026, and 86 of the 265 designs we list are £120.00. Rolls are 53cm by 10m, shorter than the 10.05m standard.
Is Morris & Co. wallpaper paste-the-wall?
Our Morris & Co. product pages do not state the method, so check the label on the roll before buying adhesive, or ring us on 01604 232141 and we will check the pattern book.
How many rolls of wallpaper do I need for a room?
Divide the room perimeter by the 52–53cm roll width for the number of drops. At a 2.4m ceiling you get four drops per 10.05m roll on a small repeat and three on a large one, so a 12m perimeter room needs about six rolls, or eight with a large repeat.
Why do you recommend ordering all your rolls at once?
Batch variation is real: Farrow & Ball state on their listings that pattern and colour can vary slightly between batches because they print with real paint. Buy one roll more than you calculate, in the same order, so the room comes from one batch.
What is the difference between Sanderson and Morris & Co. wallpaper?
Both are Sanderson Design Group brands. Sanderson is far broader: 493 designs from £47.20 to £269.25, including coastal, botanical and licensed children's ranges. Morris & Co. is a single Arts & Crafts design language of 394 papers from £63.75 to £128.00, best in period houses and hallways.